April 30, 2015

Busan International Short Film Festival – Awards 2015

The Busan International Film Festival has finished on Tuesday (April 28th). Here is some information about the festival and the winners of this year.

The BISFF was the first short film festival of South Korea, it started on the eighties with the name “Korea Short Film Festival”. After all this years the festival increased its popularity and is now considered one of the most important film festivals from Busan. Every year the festival catalogue offers the audience the possibility to discover new directors and the best international productions. This year two films were screened at the Opening Night; “Dawn in the city without name” from the Swedish director Knutte Wester and “The Last Session” by the Spanish director Natxo Fuentes.

For this edition more than 4.500 short films were submitted from more than 100 countries, most of them from European countries. Despite this there was an increase of the Asian submissions. It increase from 155 in 2014 to 429 in 2015.

This are the winners of this year:

The Bigger Picture by Daisy Jacobs
International Competition
Grand Prix for Best PictureThe Bigger Picture by Daisy Jacobs – UK | 2014 - Animation
Excellence Award for Best PictureGanju by Wang Chia Chun - Taiwan | 2014 - Fiction
Jury PrizeEden´s Edge by Gerhard Tremi y Leo Calice – Austria, US | 2014 - Documentary
Jury Special Mention
Hole by Martin Edralin – Canada | 2014 - Fiction
Ecce Homo by Dimitar Kutmanov – Romaine, UK | 2014 - Fiction

Please by Lee Sangah
Korean Competition
Grand Prix for Best PicturePlease by Lee Sangah – 2014 | Fiction
Excellence Award for Best PictureMirror in Mind by Kim Seunghee – 2014 | Animation
Jury PrizeMammoth Man, the Ancient Warrior by Heo Sejun – 2014 | Fiction

Operation Kino
Grand Prix for Best PictureAnchang Chinese Restaurant Since 1987 by Choi Hyeonji
Excellence Award for Best PictureAsea Theater by Lim Minhyuk

Ketchup by Yan Baishen y Guo Chunning

BISFF Audience Choice
Busan Cinephile AwardNothing C.O. by Albert Pintó y Caye Casas – Spain| 2014 - Fiction
Audience AwardThe First Grade by Lee Junho – South Korea

Sebastián Nadilo

No comments:

Post a Comment